House System

Tring School operates a vertical tutoring system and new students will be placed in mixed-age tutor groups.  These groups consist of students from each of the year groups in the school.  Students remain with their tutor group, usually with the same tutor, throughout their time in the school.

Each tutor group is designated to one of our four Houses – Ascott, Claydon, Halton and Waddesdon, named after local stately homes.  When assigned to a House in Year 7, students represent that House for the rest of their time at Tring School.  Each House is supported by a Head of House who lead the team of tutors and are responsible for the welfare and progress of the students in Years 7 – 11.

The Tutor and the Head of House are responsible for overseeing attendance, punctuality and uniform. They also stress the importance of excellent standards of behaviour, monitor academic progress and maintain close contact with parents.

Tring School’s House system provides a wide range of opportunities for students to participate in social activities, charity work and an ever increasing number of inter-house competitions.  Most of these carry points which lead to an annual presentation for the winning House.

Students in Years 12 and 13 form part of the tutor and House system together with our specialist Head of Sixth Form and Student Support Manager who work specifically with our Sixth Form students, monitoring their attendance, academic progress and maintaining close contact with parents.



Head of House: Miss J Stefan

W1Mr A DobsonB23
W2Mr G WoodwardsH11
W3Mrs F ManserN7
W4Mr S BeedellH3
W5Mrs J Brown / Mrs V JohnstonN2
W6Ms L CushnieD2
W7Miss T MorganD4
W8Mr E OtooH8
W9Miss R Caunt/Mrs S GledhillH2
W10Miss E HicksB22
W11Miss D CorneyT1
W12Mrs L Munro/Miss J MackayB10
W13Mr T FoxB12
W14Mrs J MitchellH10
W15Miss A McLeodW8


Head of House: Mrs D Young

C1Mr R Downs/Mrs J BakerS3
C2Mr M WallingtonB6
C3Miss L WellerN5
C4Mr J AshcroftF8
C5Miss C Rance / Mrs R HobsonF7
C6Miss S JonesT12
C7Miss S Gomersall/Mrs L RolfeT10
C8Mrs E LambertD3
C9Miss S TulletB1
C10Mrs E FerrisB7
C11Miss L BullockH5
C12Mrs K BakerT2
C13Miss K Doyle/Mrs R BakerN10
C14Ms L CassonW2
C15Mrs C Simler/ Mrs E Browne N1
C16Mrs A Sharp/Mrs P du BoisB2


Head of House: Mrs K Baiden

H1Mr J FieldenB14
H2Mr J MorganH1
H3Mrs J Pennington-WrightW10
H4Miss A SaundersH9
H5Mr R King / Mrs H KnightT5
H6Mrs J SteerW9
H7Miss H JarvisN8
H8Mrs N Gosling/Miss K BrettT9
H9Mr M EvansN3
H10Mr E AnoH6
H11Miss S FernandezT8
H12Ms M van der MerweB3
H13Dr K IrlamW1
H14Mr M BarrB5
H15Mr C BelonyB13


Head of House: Mr J Sanday

A1Miss N MackieN12
A2Miss F LemondeB15
A3Miss F MitchellD1
A4Miss B ArnaudW7
A5Miss E McErlaneW5
A6Miss C NicklinF9
A7Mr C CurryN9
A8Mr S Wright W4
A9Mrs L JonesH4
A10Mr B Woolf/Ms H StephensonT11
A11Mr L TaglianiH7
A12Miss A EllershawN4
A13Miss L FlemingN11
A14Mr J RobbT7
A15Mrs D AntoineB11
A16Miss L ThompsonW3